2018 blog · Book Quotes · Book Reviews · Literary Works

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon (Book Review)

Finally, I’m able to review this wonderful book!

Synopsis: Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? (Goodreads.com)

IMG20180926101357
Look at that beautiful book cover

What I like about this book is that it’s not the ordinary love story I’ve read but it’s about learning the differences of one another and accepting that how fate is. The recent news about immigrants and separation has brought my interest in this book and it’s still happening. It’s a fiction story but the events are real.

I’ve read this book twice and honestly, I teared up in the end because I know they won’t spend their time like they have imagined but they are able to meet in the most unexpected place and time.

Natasha is Jamaican and Daniel is half Korean and half American. Natasha is the practical and smart character while Daniel is the romantic and artistic one. And they love each other but Natasha needs to be deported because she is an undocumented immigrant and Daniel wants to spend their time in just one day.

In the end, they are able to find each other and their love sparked again.

IMG20180926101515
My favorite quote

Here’s my favorite quote from the romantic Daniel: “There’s a Japanese phrase that I like: koi no yokan. It doesn’t mean love at first sight. It’s closer to love at second sight. It’s the feeling when you meet someone that you’re going to fall in love with. Maybe you don’t love them right away, but it’s inevitable that you will.”

And also, this book is going to be made as a movie adaptation and I’m so excited to watch it. I hope it’s going to be good as the book.

Leave a comment