2023 blog · Book Reviews · Literary Works

Taylor Jenkins Reid and her Books (My Reviews)

I’m back again to write about one of the popular authors in our time and about her books which I didn’t expect to finish in 5 months. I like exploring other book genres, the underrated ones and sometimes the overrated ones, as long as the plots are interesting then they are worth my time.

This author is known for her works in historical and contemporary romance and a lot of her books are mostly recommended. So, I’m curious why her books are very popular. That’s when I decided to do a small project and to add to my books list as well. Anyway, the author I have been talking about is Taylor Jenkins Reid.

Who is Taylor Jenkins Reid? All of you fans should have known now, right? I’m just going to give a brief description of her. Taylor Jenkins Reid or TJR (I will be addressing her acronyms throughout my blog) is an American author most known for her novels The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, Daisy Jones and the Six, Malibu Rising, & One True Loves.

So, let me start with why I didn’t read her books in the first place, well, here are the reasons in a numbered list:

  1. There are popular
  2. Most books are bestselling
  3. People are recommending her books, mostly
  4. Themes are mostly family drama and romance

But due to some circumstances like me being bored and done with my Goodreads challenge. I decided to pick one of her books, one of her popular books but not much talked about. Well, that was hard for me until I found a copy that’s affordable. So out of curiosity and poor decision, I picked Malibu Rising as my first book. After I read the book, I already had decided that this book… didn’t blow my mind but I got interested in her books so I decided to give a chance to read her books. Fortunately, there are only eight as of date. Her other four books’ genre is mainly historical fiction and the first four of her books’ genre is women contemporary. 

TJR currently has 8 books and 1 novella. I’m also letting you know that the following reviews are not in order of her publishing dates. You may read them out of order but I’m telling you that the last four or “famous women quartet” has one character that is connected to each other but the stories remain different.

Here is the list of books that I read in that order:

  1. Malibu Rising
  2. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
  3. Daisy Jones and the Six
  4. Evidence of the Affair
  5. Carrie Soto is Back
  6. Maybe in Another Life
  7. After I Do
  8. One True Loves
  9. Forever, Interrupted

Without further ado, here are my short versions of my reviews of her books. If I have time and chance, I would make another post of a longer version of one of her books but this might do for now.

Book Reviews

Malibu Rising Review (4 out of 5):

This is my first book that I read by TJR. I thought there was going to be a surfing competition and some family drama but it dug way deeper. 

The story happened mostly in the late 70s to the early 80s in Malibu and four siblings, Nina, Jay, Hud and Kit held their annual end-of-summer party and invited the stars, artists and famous people. They all knew the siblings not because they were famous but also they were the children of the legendary (and asshole) singer Mika Riva. In one night during the party, it was bound to be in chaos but in between the mess, the Riva siblings were out there letting their own struggles and secrets be shared with the people and thus the family’s secrets would come into shape and a revelation would rise in the surface, shocking the Riva siblings and before the first spark of flame would burn down the mansion.

I was correct on the theme part but what hooked me was the revelation and the climax or the story. 

Though the start was slow and there was a lot of drama and more characters than were necessary for some chapters, I liked how it was written, no nonsense and the pacing near the end was so good that I had to take a break from what just happened. 

First part of the book was more on flashbacks, how June, their mother, met Mick. The bastard then ran off to meet other women and left his wife to fend for herself. I was seething towards Mick and I was glad he was only mentioned twice in TJR’s universe (will get to that soon). Anyway, Nina, the eldest, was the one who took care of the family to the point that she sacrificed her education and her wants just wanted to survive. The second part of the book was during the party and all revelations and gossip were all out. They were all entertaining to be honest, I didn’t feel bad for them except for the Riva siblings, they had already been through a lot. 

I praised Nina during the story and she got what she deserved in the end and for her siblings too. This book made me want to read more of TJR and her books.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Review (4 out of 5):

This is one of her bestselling books and the most recommended. As I’ve said, I felt doubtful that the book was that great and what if when I read it, I would feel disappointed and would spat out curses to those who recommend this book. So, I thought it through and I gave up and read the book.

I didn’t expect the book to be this good, I mean, I already knew there would be a lot of drama considering that the main character was an actress but it showed raw emotions and a lot of schemings just to be with her darling, who I didn’t expect. It began in 2017, where Monique Grant, a magazine reporter was called by none other than Evelyn Hugo to make her biography. Curious and surprised as to why she was chosen to write for her, she was determined not to miss this opportunity and to move up her career. When they finally met, Evelyn told her own story surviving what little means during the ‘50s, coursing through her acting career and famous movies in the ‘60s & ‘70s in Hollywood and retiring in the 80’s – along with her seven husbands. She revealed a lot from the ugly side of Hollywood to the rich and glamorous of being an actress, she showed ambition to become one, unexpected friendship, and her forbidden love. Nearing the conclusion, it was almost cleared why Monique was chosen and how her life intersected with hers in a tragic way.

I was stunned how TJR was able to write Evelyn Hugo like she pictured how a ‘50s or ‘60s actress would act (actress act haha) and her story with her seven husbands when in fact the real true love was Celia St. James. It really was a surprise for me because I didn’t expect or rather I didn’t wait longer for her to show who her true love was. During those periods, it was difficult to be gay and bisexual, especially when you were on Hollywood and people would loved to make a scandal out everything and I liked Evelyn’s schemes and plans to get what she wanted and to be closer to Celia, even if they fought a lot and wasted years of not seeing each other but in the end they finally had settled down until Celia passed away. I really was waiting for the part for Monique and I kind of figured it out already when one of Evelyn’s husbands told her that he loved someone but it didn’t reveal a name, that was how I knew he was talking about Monique’s dad. It was really sad and I also felt bad for Monique because Evelyn was a bit selfish and just let her dad blame himself for the accident. So yeah, I was annoyed with Evelyn, though she was fierce and determined, she was truly hard-headed, same went to Celia St. James. So both of them were perfect for each other. In the end for Evelyn, all of her family and loved ones were gone and I felt kind of bad for her but she was a strong independent woman so, no hard feelings there. And also, Mick Riva was in there and my blood boiled and his condescending nature. God, glad they only spent one night, but still. 

This was my favorite TJR book so far. I liked the story’s pacing in each husband and the revelation towards the end. Remarkable in its own way.

Daisy Jones and the Six Review (2.5 out of 5):

This book was also another bestseller and let me just say that I was really hoping this book was better than her previous book because it talked about music and the history of a band. When I started reading, I was like, okay it was like an interview-style kind of writing at the beginning and then when flipped through the pages, I was like uh ok, so it was purely like that style, like a documentary script. 

It was set during the 70’s where drugs and alcohol were accessible to all, especially to rock stars. Daisy Jones was a wild woman and drugs were her 3 meals per day. But her voice and lyrical genius made her want to become a singer and be famous. Then came the Six, a rock band who also wanted to become big in the music scene. Billy Dunne, leader and singer of the band wanted them to become famous but coming up with music was difficult but I was pretty sure he could rely on drugs and alcohol but he tried to be sober for his family. Anyway, their manager recruited Daisy Jones to their band to try to sing one of their songs and that shook the whole room and their song topped in the charts. As what they would say, the rest was history until they got disbanded due to differences of the members, especially between Daisy and Billy, you would already know how they would have felt in the book.

As I’ve said, I was a bit disappointed that it was purely a music documentary script, I mean TJR could add a bit of a narration. I also read that Daisy Jones and the Six was inspired from the band Fleetwood Mac, where romance between bandmates, maybe complicated relationships, and wrote songs that thought it might be about them or one of them, I may never know. The only character that I liked was Simone, Daisy Jones’s friend, because she had more sense than the rest of the bandmates and crew combined. I also liked that TJR included the band’s songs and lyrics and thought that TJR is a good writer but this book didn’t make me feel thrilled with the band. 

So, this was a short review, not much said. Only that drugs might make you stupid and make bad decisions. I hoped that the adaptation would be better, maybe they would make it like a documentary.

Evidence of the Affair Review (3 out of 5):

TJR’s short and epistolary novel. It was short, yes and it was also to pass the time during my break but I was surprised that the characters’ way of writing the letters were…deep. What can I expect from TJR, she writes stories with cheating husbands and strong independent women but it still made me want to continue reading this story.

Carrie Soto Is Back Review (5 out of 5):

She was the moment. She was on top. She was ‘the Battle Axe’. Her name was Carrie Soto and this was one of my most favorite books by TJR. I didn’t expect the whole story to be that great. There were some cliché parts but they were conveyed so well that I had to pause and internalize what happened. Throughout the book, I really thought that Carrie Soto was real and if she were real, this book would have been a bestselling biography.

Set during the late 80’s and 90’s, Carrie Soto was the champion and one of the greatest tennis players of her time. She held the highest number of Slams, most number of Wimbledon awards until she retired due to her injury. Then, Carrie and her father meticulously watched one match between Nicki Chan vs Ingrid Cortez, Carrie was nervous of the result but then Nicki Chan won, letting her have the most titles of Slams and awards, replacing Carrie. That was when Carrie was back to the game, to get back her title.

I liked how the story progressed from humble beginnings to her training to play tennis until the competitions and her determination to win. Now, I am not a fan of sports and tennis, never played one myself, so it was difficult for me to understand the terms but TJR somewhat explained it well all throughout the book and it was easier then for me to imagine how Carrie played from there. I liked the relationship with her father, and there was less drama between her beau, Bowe Huntley because he also focused on becoming the greatest player. Like TJR’s women, Carrie was determined and sometimes bad-tempered but they did get the job done, they wanted something and they worked hard for it. That was what I liked about Carrie. 

For me, it was a breath of relief after her documentary book (if you know then you know) and it kept me on the edge of my bed or seat. I thought to myself that this was the first time that a book about sports thrilled me. More books like this, please TJR!

Maybe in Another Life Review (4 out of 5):

Now that I’m done with her latest books, it’s time for me to check her other books, which were the first four books and they lean more into romance and women contemporary. It’s fine for me since they don’t have much heavier themes but it gives me a peek at the beginnings of TJR’s works. Let me start with the 3rd book and I do not regret reading this book.

Hannah Martin had been living and traveling between cities and without a stable job until a disastrous breakup that made her return to her hometown of Los Angeles. Her best friend, Gabby invited Hannah for a celebration and they went to a bar where Hannah bumped into Ethan, her highschool boyfriend. At midnight, Gabby asked Hannah if she’s ready to go but Ethan offered to give her a ride later if she wanted to stay. Hannah hesitated at first and thought of scenarios if she chose to leave with Gabby, what would happen? What would happen if she would leave with Ethan? It was told in concurrent storylines where Hannah lived out the consequences of her decisions. These different storylines had effect with her and the people around her but in the end, and in both worlds, she would find someone who will take care of her and might let her stay in her hometown.

This was a pre-TJR book, her main character was tamed, the story was more of a two-worlds scenario. That fate and decisions made her end up in that situation but in the end, it happened and she accepted it. And I guess, she was happy, in both worlds. The story was not complicated and it was less cheesy for me. I liked Hannah for showing that she was open to being a single mother but in the end, Gabby was supportive of her and Ethan had decided to stay with her. If I get to choose which world I wanted, I would choose where she went with Ethan. The other world was so painful for me and she deserved much better but in the end, everything worked out and she found her soulmate in a most unexpected place. I liked the pacing of each of the storyline and nothing left out like one part was shown in the storyline and the other wasn’t. And also, Hannah should slow down with the intake of cinnamon rolls. My jaw and throat hurt everytime she ate one but it was fine, she really liked cinnamon rolls.

After I Do Review (2.5 out of 5):

I refused to believe that TJR wrote this book because what the hell was that? I wasn’t invested with the idea of being apart for a year because they wouldn’t live like that separately and they didn’t even finish for one year, they finally reunited for maybe 10 months. So this book didn’t work out for me but it gave me some ideas about what love was about. 

Lauren and Ryan’s marriage was on the brink of breaking and then they came up with a plan, they decided to take a year off from seeing each other and hoped to find that love for each other again. One rule: they won’t call or contact each other for one year. Then Lauren embarked on a self-discovery of what it means to be married and love and how her family and friends have different ideas or meanings of love and marriage. She would have to figure it out for herself how she can love Ryan back once that year was finished (which in the book, they didn’t finish it. ugh!).

I also noticed with TJR’s books that it started with the present and in the middle it would tell about the past of what happened. That was the only thing that worked for me but the rest, kind of put me off like the part where Lauren read Ryan’s draft emails, like privacy wasn’t in her dictionary. Much worse, Ryan admitted to reading hers, too. Okay, they were meant for each other. Also, her family kinda annoyed me, like her brother, Charlie. He was selfish to call Ryan for his wedding as his best man knowing that Lauren didn’t want to see Ryan yet like this wasn’t about you or something like jeez, grow up, you just met your wife at the airplane going back to Chicago (actually, I forgot where he went home). Then, there was her grandmother who faked having cancer. Of course, the family won’t believe her when the time came that the cancer was there because she kept faking it. TJR, come on. You were better than this.

I’m ranting now about the book and it just goes to show that this wasn’t my favorite book of TJR and I’m just glad that I got the opportunity to read her book before it got popular, I mean this was semi-popular but it will be soon. I just know it.

One True Loves Review (4 out of 5):

TJR has defined love in this book differently and I was impressed. I thought this book would be like her previous books where affairs happened out of nowhere but this one just laid it out in the open and both parties (her true loves) accepted her decision. I also realized that this is her last book of her pre-books before TJR explored more the genre, historical fiction. This book made me reflect on some parts of my love life, yeah I only have one and he is my first, but what it had rooted me and read it towards the end was this part about how you were a person before and how you become or change to right now defines who you love the person. It starts with yourself. TJR, you were a genius.

Emma Blair married her high school sweetheart, Jesse Lerner. She vowed that she would never stay in her hometown and ran her family’s bookstore. They built a world of their own and traveled the world together and lived life to the fullest. On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse journeyed to Alaska and was on a helicopter over the Pacific Ocean then it went missing. Just like that, Jesse was gone forever. Emma was devastated and moved back home to put her life back together. A few years later, she ran into an old friend, Sam Kemper and found herself falling in love again. When she got engaged to Sam, she received a phone call that Jesse was alive and was going back home. With a husband and a fiancé, Emma must choose which she truly loved and figure out who she was and what she wanted. 

Similar to her books, this was told from the past first, from Emma’s childhood towards the present. I liked that it was fast-paced and it didn’t give dull and wordy thoughts when Emma was contemplating her choices. I also noticed TJR loved putting letters in her books, which was fine because I liked reading letters anyway. I also liked the characters and I was glad that Jesse understood Emma’s decision to be in love with Sam. I also liked Sam for giving Emma the space she needed when the news that her husband was alive. And I was happy for Emma for choosing Sam (yes, I was rooting for him, I’m biased) and for acknowledging her mistakes and making the right decision in the end. This was my favorite quote from the book: “True love doesn’t always last,” I say. “It doesn’t always have to be for a lifetime”. 

I also knew that this will become a film adaptation so I hope to the gods that this will be as good as the book. (I’m nervous for Daisy Jones and the Six).

Forever, Interrupted Review (3.5 out of 5):

I did it! I finally read all of her books, unless she has a new one so I might as well add it to my TBR list. Anyway, this is her debut novel and I didn’t expect much and it wasn’t too grand obviously but it was a good book. I thought Elsie, the main character, will find another love or husband but I was glad that it didn’t. It was a story of grief and it also showed the stages of grief throughout the story. All I felt was mixed emotions and TJR knew how to pull my emotional string.

Elsie Porter is an average librarian and what happens to her is anything but ordinary. One rainy New Year’s Day, she heads out to buy and pick up a pizza and didn’t expect someone there in the shop doing the same thing. She meets the adorable and sweet Ben Ross. There’s a spark and in an instant, they fall in love with each other. In a span of weeks and moving in, they decide to elope. Then nine days later, Ben is out riding his bike until he is hit by a truck and killed on impact. Elsie hears the sirens from her apartment and by the time she heads out, he is whisked off to the emergency room. At the hospital, she meets Susan, the mother-in-law who does not know Elsie exists until now. This story is told in alternating timelines in just one year. Interweaving Elsie & Ben’s romance with Elsie & Susan’s healing journey.

Elsie was kind of selfish and it didn’t want Ben to call his mother about their relationship and their elopement but she realized that and it was kind of a good character development there, probably part of the healing journey. It was a good book that showed the stages of grief for Elsie and her memories with Ben all told in just one year in the story. I like how this contemporary romantic novel is not like any other novels. This shows that it’s possible to have a happy ending by learning to accept that he is gone and you’re finally slowly moving on.

I could also say that this is where it all started, from alternate storylines to strong female leads, TJR changes the stories in her books but her elements (correct me if I’m wrong on this term) stays the same.

The Rankings

If you have read my reviews, you should know how I will rank her books from greatest to the least. I like her books overall but some of them didn’t appeal to me that great and it made me waste my time. After thinking it through, my ranking of her books from the good to the…not good:

  1. Carrie Soto is Back (my first five stars!)
  2. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo 
  3. Malibu Rising
  4. Maybe in Another Life
  5. One True Loves
  6. Forever, Interrupted
  7. Evidence of an Affair (huh, the novella came first)
  8. Daisy Jones and the Six (much drugs)
  9. After I Do

Plans to Reread

Her books are easy to read and there comes a time that I might reread them because of a film adaptation or I’m bored (I get bored easily, shut up). So, maybe in the near future. I already reread Daisy Jones and the Six because of the series in Prime and let me tell you that the series is a bit better than the book even though there are a lot of changes but it is entertaining and their songs are worth listening to! I mean I have listened to the Aurora album for 2 weeks now. I may reread The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo because of an upcoming film on Netflix (praying to the adaptation gods that they don’t mess this up) and Carrie Soto is Back as a physical copy. If I read ebooks and give them a 5-star, there’s a chance that I will read them again in a physical copy. I wish I could reread One True Loves but I still remember the story. The movie will come out this April 2023 so, fingers crossed, I hope it’s good.

Book Recommendations

If you want to start reading her books or if there are books that have the same vibe or theme as hers, here are some books that I would recommend in any order:

  1. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
  2. Malibu Rising
  3. One True Loves
  4. Maybe in Another Life
  5. Carrie Soto is Back

Final Thoughts

No thoughts. I’m kidding! My thoughts for her and her books are that it’s worth reading and I’m sometimes a sucker for romance and for a strong female main lead. TJR writes her books where the main character is strong and loving at the same time. The books are interesting and even though the elements are the same, the stories are different from each other. I love that it keeps me entertained and gives life lessons, which I don’t follow for real (lol).

Book Quotes

Here are my favorite quotes from each of the books:

Forever Interrupted:

“I start crying. I put that wedding ring on him myself, my hand shaking while his was steady as a rock.”

After I Do:

“I know it will be OK because everything is OK in the end. And if it’s not OK, it’s not the end.”

Maybe in Another Life:

“Fate or not, our lives are still the results of our choices.”

One True Loves:

“True love doesn’t always last,” I say. “It doesn’t always have to be for a lifetime”.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo:

“I spent half my time loving her and the other half hiding how much I loved her.”

Daisy Jones and the Six:

“I had absolutely no interest in being somebody else’s muse.

I am not a muse.

I am the somebody.

End of fucking story.”

Malibu Rising:

“Must be nice. To be able to be weak. I wouldn’t know.”

Carrie Soto is Back:

“Some men’s childhoods are permitted to last forever, but women are so often reminded that there is work to be done.”

Some photos I took with the books throughout my reading journey and the drinks for the aesthetics

This is the end of my TJR blog! Hope you enjoy my blog about my now favorite author and my book reviews! Happy reading, I guess.

Leave a comment